Fever Pitch by Nick Hornby

Never ever in my whole life would I have expected to find myself slogging through a book about soccer but, dammit, I did it. I never would have been able to do it if it were written by anybody but Hornby who is such a genius that he usually makes me want to hang myself. He is passionate and witty and has a wonderful guy-next-door style that makes him feel more like your friend than some random guy writing about something you don’t care about.

I’m not going to lie. There were a couple of times that I glazed over while I was reading this but it was never for very long. Hornby describes his relationship with Arsenal in matches. I think that the longest section was maybe 8 pages. Each match means something to him, even if it’s just a good game among a number of bad ones. Hornby manages to tie his obsession to every stage of his life from the beginning of the obsession in a way that is touching and funny.

I would never have read this if I hadn’t decided to read all of the Hornby I could get my hands on but I’m glad I did. Even if your obsession isn’t football or isn’t sports related in the least, I think you’ll recognize yourself in these pages.

Leave a Reply

