Miss Rachael vs. The Books

read all the books

So, this lovely graphic is pretty much my life lately.  A number of things have pushed me over the edge into “OMG!  BERKS!” world and I kind of wanted to talk about it.

See, the one of the things that got me going was organizing my office.  I took all of my books out of all of their boxes, categorized them, put them back in boxes, and relabeled the boxes with the category and the date.  But for a while, for a blessed couple of weeks, all of my books were visible.  They were stacked all over my office and I could touch them and pick them up and actually see what I actually owned.  Some of the books are still out because I was a bit more careful with my packing after discovering a few bent paperbacks.  Still, just walking through the room made me want to sit down and read.

Another thing that fueled my current madness is just that things have kind of sucked lately.  I’m sick of winter and I’m feeling worn down.  I’m having some personal issues, the kind that hurt way down and then jump out at you unexpectedly.  Reading gives me freedom from all of that.  It relaxes me.  It makes me feel, oh I don’t know, safe and calm and smart.  I never feel more like myself than when I am reading or writing or talking about books or looking at books.  I know that this probably is not healthy.  My mother just told me, “You know, reading isn’t actually living.”  I kind of beg to differ.  I mean, even besides that, television isn’t living either.  Who cares how I choose to spend my life.  This is what I have chosen for myself.

Plus, I need to get through my TBR pile.

TBR:

  1. Will Grayson, Will Grayson
  2. The Fault in Our Stars
  3.  Weird Michigan
  4. Silas Marner
  5. Would I Lie to You?
  6. How to Do Everything and Be Happy
  7. The Ambassadors
  8. Suck in Your Stomach and Put on Some Color
  9. Haunted Michigan
  10. Hobbit
  11. P.I.G. English
  12. The Winter of Our Disconnect
  13. Haunted Heart
  14. Horns
  15. Thrive
  16. What French Women Know
  17. Pioneer Woman
  18. The Sound and the Fury
  19. Eugenie Grandet
  20. Female Chauvinist Pigs
  21. Yoga Bitch
  22. Adulting
  23. About a Boy
  24. Thee, Hannah
  25. Office Girl
  26. Idiot Girl Christmas
  27. The Chocolate Touch
  28. Third Strike
  29. A Beginner’s Guide to Philosophy

 

Leave a Reply

