Tally Monday

Welcome to my first Tally Monday.  I couldn’t come up with a better name for it but if I do in the future I will gladly change it.  It’s my show, man.  Anyway, I’ve decided to make Monday a day to update on my reading.  This is something I have been wanting to do since I read Nick Hornby’s Polysyllabic Spree years ago.  The theory is that every week I will give you an idea of what I’m checking out, what I’m buying, where I am in my TBR stack, and what I have read.  No promises on brilliance but I’ll give it the old college try.

Books Purchased
Scary Stories to Tell in the Dark by Alvin Scwartz
Scary Stories to Tell in the Dark 3
-The Scary Book 
by Joanna Cole
Start Here
-Start Here Volume 2

Books Checked Out 
Princess Ai: Ultimate Edition by Courtney Love

Books Read 
Will Grayson, Will Grayson by John Green and David Lavithan
Third Strike by Heather Brewer

Number of Books in TBR Stack: 29

Earlier today I had this thought about life and, as an extension, reading.  See, Hubby’s hospital visit has had quite the effect on me and, obviously, also him.  We’ve been talking about stress and he is feeling like he can’t really do anything because we don’t really know what is wrong.  I was rushing off to work this afternoon and I looked over a field that was flat and flooded from the melting snow and I thought, “Maybe the way to live is as if we’ll never die.”  I mean that.  I mean that it’s hard to enjoy life if you are always thinking that you will die someday and it’s kind of similar with reading.  If I keep thinking of reading as a marker I have to hit, I am going to suck all of the fun out of it.  I still want to make my markers but I maybe want to relax a little.  I want to take some deep breaths.  I want to read in a bar.

That said, I’m kind of disappointed with my pace this last week.  I mean, there must have been days when I did not read at all.  I remember vividly the nights that I could not put a book down.  I should have gotten in at least one more.  I didn’t review Brewer’s book because I am related to her and feel that I couldn’t be objective because of it.  They are great books.  I enjoy them.  That should be enough.  As far as books checked out, only one added to the pile this week!  I read Courtney Love’s Princess Ai when the series first came out and decided to revisit it, mostly because a kid at the library is currently devouring manga and anime and it made me all reminiscent.  Also, it’s an easy win.  I could have it done tonight.  Now, about the books I bought.  I’m not sure about the Start Here.  I may have bought them the week before.  Basically, they are two independently done book by Book Riot contributors that is supposed to help you get into reading certain authors by giving some direction.  They were $2.99/book and only available digitally.  I needed them.  The scary kids books?  100% pure reminiscence.  They showed up in the book sale at work and I had to grab them up.  How fun would it be to read those stories aloud while drinking?

I want to sit outside and read.  Is it summer yet?  Maybe I just want to read…

Leave a Reply

