The Fault in Our Stars by John Green

I want to begin this post by saying damn you, John Green.  Just.  Geez!  I mean, I expected a sad book, of course.  Did I expect a magical and witty sad book?  Well, I should have.  What I did not expect was to spend two days this week sitting on the couch with my husband and the cats, staring at him and thinking, “If you get cancer and die, I will kill you.”  I think he’s beginning to expect something.  I’ve been very huggy.

Hazel is exactly the girl that every single nerd girl wants to be, but with cancer.  She is smart and funny and quick and apparently beautiful, at least to the people that love her.  Kudos, here, in fact.  I don’t know that a description was ever given of Hazel except in comparison to someone she looks like and still I have this perfectly formed image of her in my head.  Hazel, aware that she is dying, spends most of her time in her room reading or watching junk TV.  It made me wonder what I would do if I knew that I was dying and I related to Hazel because it was the same thing.

Hazel goes to these support group meetings which are supposed to help but are pretty much just depressing.  At one of these meetings her acquaintance in annoyance, Isaac, brings his friend Augustus along.  Isaac has just learned that he will lose the only eye he has left.  Augustus has lost a leg to cancer.  Instantly there is a connection and the connection sizzles so much that the reader her/himself can’t help but feel downright giddy.

I love these characters and I loved following Hazel’s descent into love.  She doesn’t want to be a grenade, doesn’t want to hurt more people with her death than she already will, but Augustus proves irresistible and their love is one for the history books.

Damn I loved this.  Just Damn.

Leave a Reply

