Tally Monday- April 28, 2014

Checked Out 

  1. How to Be a Woman by Caitlin Moran
  2. Equilateral by Ken Kalfus

Bought 

  1. I am America (And You Can Too) by Stephen Colbert
  2. America (The Book) by Jon Stewart
  3. Gilead by Marilynne Robinson
  4. Stephen King Goes to the Movies

Read 

  1. Captain Underpants and the Attack of the Talking Toilets by Dav Pilkey

TBR 

32

 

I was discussing this little Monday project with the hubby this weekend and he scoffed at the name.  “Tally Monday?  What is that about?”  I told him that I tried to come up with something clever but was unable to on the fly to which he replied, “You should have called it Manic Monday.” SOB.  He’s totally right.  Oh well, too late now.

You’ll notice two things about this week.  First, I only read a Captain Underpants book.  Now, part of this is that I stressed myself the eff out last week and was completely unable to function on a mental level.  The other part of this is that I am in the middle of Brigid Schulte’s Overwhelmed and it’s kind of an involved and slow read.  Mostly I feel like I am just watching myself slip further and further behind.  Hopefully I’ll speed back up when I’m done with this and maybe even possibly catch up.  But don’t hold your breath.

The second thing you may notice is that I bought a lot of books this week.  We went to second hand media store.  You should see the record list.  Also, I had that brilliant idea aobut challenging myself not to order in any more library books for four whole weeks.  This is week two.  I’m itchy.  Some are still trickling in but for the first time I am really seeing how bad my habits have gotten.

I am trying really hard to get through the Schulte tonight.  It’s like my goal except that I have to fold laundry and shit when I get home.  Sigh.  No rest for the wicked.  Still, keep your eyes peeled, my sweets!  This book is giving me lots to say and hopefully I can remember it all!

Leave a Reply

