Tally Monday- June 23, 2014

Checked Out 

  1. I Will Always Love You by Cecily von Ziegesar
  2. Captain Underpants and the Wrath of the Wicked Wedgie by Dav Pilkey

Bought 

  1. The Virgin Suicides by Jefferey Eugenides (Gift!)
  2. & Sons by David Gilbert
  3. Secret History by Donna Tartt
  4. Daily Dose of Knowledge by Tina Adler (Gift!)

Read 

  1. It Had to be You by Cecily von Ziegesar

TBR: 37/39

 

I know what you’re thinking.  What is going on with my TBR number?  I’m having a moment of indecision resulting from a lapse in good judgement.  See, one of my favorite things to do is browse the tables at Barnes and Noble and the best time to do that is when the summer reading picks go out.  I don’t know why but it fascinates me.  I like to see what I recognize, count how many I’ve read, and think wistfully of all the great summer reading I plan on doing.  Last week I was freaking out about how busy I am and I realized that I hadn’t even made it to B&N yet this summer.  Luckily I had a party in that area on Saturday so I left early and browsed to my heart’s content.  I convinced myself that I would finally replace my copy of Francesca Lia Block’s Dangerous Angels that my cousin’s girlfriend never returned to me but they didn’t have it.  So I bought two other books instead, like you do.  I want to put them in my TBR pile right away but I’m not sure yet.  They’re still on my kitchen table, looking all wonderful and new.  Also, my TBR number went down this week because I started listening to an audio of one of the books and took it out of the stack.  The Hobbit.  So far it’s a delightful listen.

I am getting achingly close to finishing the Gossip Girl series and I am beyond excited.  I want to finish it up so I can do a series of reviews focusing on different characters individually.  And, Lord help me, I’m pretty excited to start a new series.  My next one is Private by Kate Brian.  Or maybe it’s Divergent?  I’m not sure yet.  I almost decided to try Sookie Stackhouse again after watching the season premiere of True Blood last night but I don’t know that I can stomach it.

I also finished listening to Jonathan Safran Foer’s Everything is Illuminated this morning.  I want to write a fabulous review but fear my spelling.  I listened to a lot of words that I don’t think I could spell.  It was a fantastic book.  I loved it.  Then I had the pleasure of reading the reviews.  This is one of my favorite things to do.  I go to Goodreads.  I look up a book I’m reading.  I read the one star and five star reviews.  It’s amazing how different books are for different people.  I thought this one gut wrenching and glorious but a lot of people thought it was shit.

I’m hoping for a nice block of reading time these next couple of weeks.  I may not be able to tally up next Monday.  I’ll be camping this weekend and then leaving for another trip on Monday.  Happy tales!

 

Leave a Reply

