Dangerous Creatures by Kami Garcia

I’m not sure how I feel about spin offs. In fact, I wasn’t sure that I was going to read this book until I was suddenly 100 pages in. Part of me really, really wanted to. I loved the Caster Chronicles.  I loved that wonderful world, the southern and the supernatural.  When I picked this book up I was worried that it would ruin that for me.  I mean, most of this book takes place in New York for goodness sakes!

It didn’t though.

High school is over and everyone is going their separate ways.  It’s only Ridley who is stuck.  She’s stuck because she has to go to New York where she owes a club owner two markers from a bad game of cards.  The first marker is a drummer.  The second marker is the house’s call.  The only way to settle the debt is to get back with her quarter incubus boyfriend, Link, who just so happens to be heading to New York to kick start his music career.  Good thing Ridley already has a band waiting for him.

But there are some problems.

First, Ridley is fighting an internal battle.  She loves Link but as a siren she’s just not supposed to feel things like that.  She’s not supposed to care.  She’s supposed to charm her way into anything.  Second, Link doesn’t want her pulling her siren tricks anymore.  He wants her to be normal.  Third, a certain very powerful and very dead dark caster wants revenge on them both.

This was a great, entertaining read with the kind of ending that reminded me not to start a series until all the books are out.  If you liked the Caster Chronicles, this could be a hit or a miss but for me it was totally a hit.

Leave a Reply

