Tally Monday- October 20, 2014

Checked Out

  1. Page by Paige by Laura Lee Gulledge

Bought

  1. Maine by J. Courtney Sullivan

Read

  1. Secret Bedroom by R.L. Stine

TBR

37

Oh, man.  I have been bad, you guys.  Seriously bad.  First off, I have not been completely honest about my check out because, you see, I’ve been working on checking out all of Gaiman’s Sandman series and I haven’t been recording it.  I jsut thought that I would wait until I had it all but I’ll just tell you guys right now that I have up to 5 in the collections.  The last half of the set is on order.  I’ve checked out more than I’ve been telling you.  But I feel better now that I’ve come clean  Whew.

Now, on to buying.  When should I list things that I’ve ordered?  I don’t usually order books, you know, but this week I broke down and ordered Best American Short Stories of 2014 and Best American Essays of 2014.  I don’t know why except that I wanted them and a psychic told my mother to tell me not to worry about money so much.  They should be here tomorrow but I have pretty much lived the past week in total anticipation.  Our first issue of The New Yorker should arrive this week too and every day I check the mail with  a heart full of hope.  It’s not like I’m getting any actual reading done.  I don’t know how adding more is going to help.

Seriously.  Seriously.  I only read one book again this week.  Hubby was still not feeling well so there was still a lot of House watching going on.  Then some stuff came up during the week.  I had early days on Monday and Tuesday this week but ran some errands with Hubby on Monday and then had dinner with the in-laws on Tuesday.  I’m still not in top shape myself.  I manage to steam roll myself into normalcy while I’m at work but by the time that I get home I am exhausted by the effort.  I made myself go to sleep at 10:30 every weekday last week and, quite frankly, I was barely making it that late.

These are all excuses, of course.  I started Afterlife with Archie last week and I was brimming with excitement.  It was exactly what I expected and not at all what I wanted.  I tossed it aside.  Then I picked up The Restaurant at the End of the Universe by Douglas Adams and I experienced the same thing I experienced with Hitchhiker’s Guide:  I couldn’t get into it.  Then, amazingly, at 50 pages I shot off.  I read 140 pages yesterday afternoon AND took a nap.

Basically, I have higher hopes for this week.  I took Wednesday off to hang out with my mom (and buy some effing shoes that I can wear) and I’m sure that I’ll end up with an afternoon of reading.  I’ve just got to keep on keeping on.

Leave a Reply

