Tally Monday- October 27, 2014

Checked Out

  1. Life, the Universe, and Everything by Douglas Adams
  2. Choose Your Own Autobiography by Neil Patrick Harris

Bought

  1. Best American Short Stories 2014
  2. Best American Essays 2014
  3. Baby Cakes by Armistead Maupin

Read 

  1. Restaurant at the End of the Universe by Douglas Adams
  2. Free Fall by Joss Whedon
  3. On Your Own by Joss Whedon
  4. Guarded by Joss Whedon
  5. Welcome to the Team by Joss Whedon
  6. The Core by Joss Whedon

TBR

35

Let’s talk a little bit about how complicated my reading life is.  See, I read a lot of stuff and I like to read widely.  Sometimes I blow through five graphic novels and feel like a God but then, looking back, I realize that it looks pretty shotty on a whole.

Let’s talk about the reading I do daily first.  Every day I read a section of something spiritual.  I read the Bible a couple of years ago.  Right now I am working on a slim, hand bound volume called The Moon Diary.  I usually don’t track my spiritual readings because it’s a personal thing I do.  That’s why you never hear about it.  Then I read my daily reading out of Daily Dose of Knowledge, which is an “intellectual devotional” Hubby got me for my birthday.  Hubby also recently subscribed to the New Yorker and I’ve added 25 pages of that a day.  Then there’s my other magazines, which I also try to get through at least 50 pages of each day.  (I’m very picky about what I actually read in magazines.  For the most part I just look through them so this is like a 5 minute ordeal.)  I read one chapter of 10 Years in the Tub by Nick Hornby each night right now too, because I love him and I want to even though I’ve read some of it multiple times.

That’s a lot, huh?  After that I read my books.  I read a short story after every book as a palate cleanser.

Next, we have my short list.  Originally it went like this: Book I own, TBR, series.  Then I realized that my TBR was out of control and I needed to cut it back a bit faster so I made it: book I own, TBR, TBR, series.  Now I’m stuck on graphic novels so I’ve made it: book I own, TBR, TBR, series, graphic.  Effing nuts, right?

Finally, there’s the long list.  I have a series of things that I am working on and now that I’ve taken the time to write it down, I can see that I actually really need to pare back.  Right now it looks like: Personal TBR list, book about books, children’s lit, Faulkner, feminism, de Angeli (a children’s librarian who was born in my county), Hornby, King, Meno, money, short list (right now it’s best YA of the 20th century or something like that).  Now, the funny thing about this is that I started by thinking I wanted to read all of King.  Then I realized that I wanted to read all of a lot of people and somehow that got all confused.  I started a list in my journal a while ago of authors I want to read.  I should probably cut it down to two, mostly because I have one Meno left and I’m not giving up King.

So, sometimes, I feel a bit brain dead and I think that part of it is how much of my life looks like a complicated reading program.  I actually feel a little bad laying it out for you like that.  Man.  I need to do something.  But the Faulkner!  I can’t get rid of the Faulkner!

May your reading life not be as messy as mine, dear reader.

Leave a Reply

