Tally Monday- November 17, 2014

Checked Out

None!

Bought

  1. Bridge of Sighs by Richard Russo
  2. Fragile Things by Neil Gaiman
  3. Revival by Stephen King

Read

  1. Preludes and Nocturnes by Neil Gaiman
  2. Ozma of Oz by L. Frank Baum

TBR :38

Don’t judge me.

Ugh.  Seriously.  I realize that I spend most of my Tally Mondays being all down on myself.  I have super high expectations.  This week I planned on plowing through the complete Sandman trades and then tearing through Revival.  I was super excited when I realized that my reading week consisted of Neil Gaiman, Nick Hornby, and Stephen King.  It sounded pretty kick ass.

But just like with all of my other expectations, I have no idea where the time went.

I told you last week about The Following, the TV show we’ve been binge watching on Netflix.  I finally had to put my foot down on Wednesday.  I was feeling so overwhelmed.  I had no idea why.  I mean, I worked really super hard at work all week and I got a lot done but I was just… distracted.  Wednesday night I sat down with my book and blocked out everything that was going on around me and read.  Hubby, while watching TV at one point, sneered, “You’re not even paying attention!” I replied that I, indeed, was not.

Isn’t that really the joy of reading though?  Sometimes I feel like there is so much going on in my life that it is virtually impossible for me to give in to a story.  There’s the TV, the computer, the phone.  The cats are running around like fuzzy asshole ninjas and Hubby pausing as he passes to tell me about what he’s working on.  I want to spend less time on my devices and more time with my books and my loves.  I hate that sometimes I am pulled in so many different directions that I end up snapping at the Hubby when he just wants to talk to me.  That’s not fair to anyone.

Also, I have decided to work on simplifying my reading life a little.  I have a list of authors that I want to read through all of their works and I am going to start pursuing one of these at a time.  I am one book away from tearing through both Hornby and Joe Meno.  Both of them are in my TBR.  I’m going to tackle them.  I’m also going to put off ordering any books until the new year.  I need to get things under control.  All kinds of things, apparently.

May your reading week be as packed with awesome as mine looks to me.

Leave a Reply

