Tally Monday- January 19, 2015

Checked Out

  1. Bossypants by Tina Few (audio)
  2. A Life of One’s Own by Joanna Field

Bought

None!

Read

  1. Glory O’Brien’s History of the Future by A.S. King
  2. “At Sixty Five” by Emily Fox Gordon

TBR:34

I really really really need there to be a fire lit under my ass.  Even being home sick for two days last week was apparently just not enough.  How is it that the pile never shrinks?

Plain and simple: I’m a little crazy.

Okay, so, I read the A.S. King this week and that didn’t get replaced in my pile.  I did happen to come across the Joanna Field book in another book that I was reading and for some reason I expected it to be little short chapters and thought that I could take a break from poetry and read that instead.  It’s not and I can’t.  I can’t give up my poetry.  I am almost done with Ted Hughes!  I need to more on!  (BTW, did you know that you can see what I’m reading on the Goodreads widget on the lower right?  Check it out.)

Interesting world I live in, I read “At Sixty-Five” about two minutes after I finished writing my review for Glory O’Brien’s History of the Future.  It made me really angry.  I think that it was purely because I came out of Glory O’Brien feeling like I shouldn’t buy eye cream any more and now this lady is telling me that she is starting to learn to adorn herself and be more feminine.  I almost put the damn essay down at least once a paragraph but I kept fighting, thinking that there had to be some sort of wisdom to be had.  Not for me.

I started reading The Tommyknockers by Stephen King this week and I like it a lot so far.  Of course.  I did stall a little because, you know, that’s a pretty heavy hardcover and I was waiting for the ebook to come in for me.  I got it on Thursday and started digging in.

Still, there is a life to be lived.  Being sick and exhausted and going to work does nothing for my reading ethic when I get home.  By Friday I was so frustrated with the world that I just wanted to eat nachos and drink beer and live in the internet for a bit.  I had a baby shower on Saturday and then we ran to town for a Chinese feast.  I still feel frazzled.  I still feel stressed.  I still feel tired.  But I have high hopes.

High apple pie in the sky hopes.

Leave a Reply

