Tally Monday- February 2, 2015

Checked Out

  1. The Lost Empire of Atlantis by Gavin Menzies (Audio)

Bought

None!

Read

  1. Bossypants by Tina Fey
  2. Birthday Letters by Ted Hughes

TBR: 36

Hey, you guys!  I am 70% done with The Tommyknockers!  I’m sad that it’s taking me so long, mostly because it is really good and I am really enjoying it.  Tommyknockers has inspired me to start a note journal for while I’m reading.  Stephen King ties so many of his stories together that I thought it would be useful to makes some notes.  Plus, when it takes me like three weeks to read a book I can forget some of the finer points.

Yesterday we were hammered with a lovely snowstorm and I spent my day on the couch watching King’s Storm of the Century and The Good Marriage.  I added notes to my reading journal.  It was fantastic.  I kind of feel like it’s helping me read a little more deeply.

Now, I want you guys to know that my lack of purchased books is not from lack of trying.  I want to buy all of the books and put them on my pretty shelves and think about reading them and panic about how short my life is and how I never have enough time to read all of the books!  There just haven’t been any good, irresistible used books around.  Shrug.

This week I managed to finish up an audio book and a poetry collection.  I loved the audiobook and I grew to despise the poetry collection.  I wrote a bit about Ted and Sylvia here before I finished the collection.  What I didn’t mention was that Ted Hughes really was a good poet.  He just rubbed me the wrong way with his freaking male bullshit.  The final poem in the collection, “Red”, was particularly masterful.  Still, I caught myself wondering how the collection would have been arranged if Sylvia had been able to rearrange it after his death.  Zing!

I’m thinking that the sudden arrival of winter will work out for me this week.  While I have your attention, I have some questions.  Do you take notes while you read?  What kind of notes do you take?  I felt completely lost when I started but I suppose that there is no wrong way.

Leave a Reply

