Tally Monday- March 9, 2015

Checked Out-

  1. And Sometimes Why by Rebecca Johnson
  2. Rebel Angels by Libba Bray (audio)
  3. Phoebe and her Unicorn by Dana Simpson
  4. Jacques Pepin’s Complete Techniques by Jacques Pepin

Bought

None!

Read

  1. Down and Out in Paris and London by George Orwell
  2. “Thanksgiving in Mongolia” by Ariel Levey
  3. “Dear Friend, From My Life I Write to You in Your Life” by Yiyum Li
  4. Dream Hunters by Neil Gaiman
  5. “Sliver of Sky” by Barry Lopez
  6. Endless Nights by Neil Gaiman
  7. “Someone Else” by Chris Offutt
  8. A Great and Terrible Beauty by Libba Bray

TBR: 36

What happened here?  I felt like I kicked so much ass this week but my TBR stack barely budged.  This is exactly why I decided to spend some time just clearing stuff out.  I am not even four whole days into my New Comprehensive Reading Program. (I don’t know why I keep calling it that except that it makes it sound a bit more important than it actually is.  We shall now call it NCRP.)  I don’t know why I expected to see a big change already.  I guess that I just wanted to.  Plus, it felt really good to get to those Sandman comics done because they were sooooo overdue.

The books that I checked out this past week were actually mostly ordered in the two previous weeks.  My library is finally open again and there were five days worth of delivery waiting for me.  Really, we should be impressed that I didn’t have more waiting for me.  I can explain them all, too!  And Sometimes Why has been on my TBR since it was published.  I have no idea why or what it is even about anymore.  Rebel Angels is the sequel to Great and Terrible Beauty, which I just finished listening to today.  Phoebe and Her Unicorn is about an effing unicorn.  Finally, the cookbook was just because I stumbled across a really interesting list and I kind of wanted to read a cookbook because of all that weird cooking stuff that has been going on in my life.

(OMG, you guys.  Hubby made spring rolls on Saturday that were literally the best things I ever put in my mouth.  I ate like 7.  My pants are tight.)

You may have noticed that I read a lot this week.  I was almost done with the Orwell, in all fairness.  I pushed myself through it and then a lot of essays and a few graphic novels.  I started Mostly Harmless by Douglas Adams and decided, about 90 pages in, that I didn’t care and gave up.  I am waiting to start my next series!  The book is on order.  Where is it??  What if it isn’t here by the time I finish my current book??  Deep breaths!  There’s a good chance that it will be here Wednesday and in spite of my best efforts I’m pretty sure that The Millionaire Next Door will take me longer than that.

Months ago I came across my old book blog. I am thinking about adding some of those reviews here and changing the name of this here blog to the name of the old blog because I liked it better.  Thoughts?  Ideas?  Comments?

Leave a Reply

