Phoebe and Her Unicorn by Dana Simpson

One day I was just sitting in the children’s room at work, reading about great graphic novels for girls, and I couldn’t help but snag this one and take it home with me.  You may not know this but there are not nearly enough books about unicorns.  It’s pretty surprising because I’ve had a lot of girls ask for them.  I always wanted books about unicorns when I was growing up too and could never find any.

I cannot tell you how much I enjoyed this.  I mean, I really, really enjoyed this, you guys.

Phoebe is the kind of girl who reminds me of myself.  She is an outsider without any friends who is kind of silly and weird.  Basically, she’s good fun.  One day, Phoebe skips a rock and it hits a unicorn who is under the spell of her own reflection.  Indebted to Phoebe, she grants the girl one wish.  Phoebe, of course, wishes first for an infinity of wishes and then for an infinity of dollars but when the unicorn says that she can’t fulfill those wishes the girl decides that it would be pretty cool to have a unicorn as a best friend and everyone would probably be super jealous of her.

What follows is the story of how Marigold and Phoebe actually become friends.  They both have a lot to learn and a lot to teach each other.

This was a cute book without being sugary sweet and also it was pretty funny.  I cannot wait for the next one to come out because I am going to be reading each and every one.

Leave a Reply

