Michigan Haunts and Hauntings by Marion Kuclo

I came across this book because it was mentioned in Weird Michigan, which I read last year.  I really enjoy books like this.  I like that I am somewhat familiar with the most of the areas.  I like that I can get out my computer and google away.  I looked at restaurants, hotels, maps, cemeteries.  It was very enjoyable.

As far as hunted Michigan books go, this has been, by far, the best.  Kuclo was a teacher and wrote for a number of papers in her day.  She was also a practicing witch.  The stories were well written and as a witch she was able to provide a different perspective for a lot of things.  For instance, she suggests avoiding mediums if you want to do a seance.  She also broke down hauntings by type and gave a good description at the beginning of each chapter about the kind of haunting.  I really enjoyed this.  It was good fun and made the hairs stand up on the back of my neck a couple of times!

Now I’m going to go look at some stuff about the ghost of MInnie Quay.

Leave a Reply

