Tally Monday- April 13, 2015

Checked Out

  1. The Sweet Far Thing by Libba Bray (A)
  2. Blonde Ambition by Zoey Dean
  3. Cemetery Boys by Heather Brewer

Bought

  1. Cat’s Eye by Margaret Atwood
  2. The Stepford Wives by Ira Levin
  3. 11/22/63 by Stephen King
  4. Oryx and Crake by Margaret Atwood
  5. Child of Demons by Mason Burgess
  6. Christine by Stephen King
  7. The Godfather by Mario Puzo

Read

  1. An Idiot Girl’s Christmas by Laurie Notaro
  2. Bad Kitty Drawn to Trouble by Nick Bruel
  3. Cemetery Boys by Heather Brewer
  4. “A Death” by Stephen King
  5. “Charity” by Charles Baxter

TBR: 33

Over the past couple of years I have become a firm believer that there should be a bookshelf in every room.  Why have I not accomplished this yet?  In case you hadn’t guessed from my recent book addiction shopping sprees, my bookshelves are now beyond overflowing.  The closet is getting dangerously full again.  Since Christmas I’ve pretty much bought enough books to fill another whole shelf.  In other words, I have a problem.  But I’m fine with it so keep your McJudgypants to yourself.

In all fairness, there was a book sale at work this week and I have to walk through the book sale to get to my office which means that I am walking past the “Horror” section numerous times a day.  I have to glance at it and see if any of the missing Stephen King is there.  Then, if I find a paperback I want I look for another one so I can just pay with a single and not deal with coins floating around.  I’m incredibly practical like that.  Someone donated SO MUCH Atwood, you guys!  SO MUCH!  I couldn’t turn it down.  Then we started watching The Sopranos and I got the itch to reread The Godfather.  I may still have my original copy that I bought for my American Ethnic Literature class 12 years ago but I didn’t feel like looking.

Something interesting happened this weekend.  I was super excited to finally get around to reading a certain book about books that I had purchased years ago.  I picked it up and started reading, ready to immerse myself in literary theory and all of that.  At page 45 I went, “Wait a second.  I don’t agree with this guy AT ALL!  I can’t be that wrong.  I have an English degree… Wait.  This is a woman??”  I looked up the book series only to discover that it is a conservative series.  Now, I try not to be political on my blog so please do not be insulted by any of this but this woman was arguing that we learn literature through a liberal filter and that she shouldn’t be discussing, pretty much from what I understand, anything about the historical context of literature, as in where it fits in the culture.  Like, we should never apply a feminist filter to what we read.  We should never think of things like Marxism in a book.  It just seemed a bit off to me because literature is written with these things in mind and it is written with influence from the outside world.  It’s not just some dude in a box.  Also, there was a whole section about how Atwood’s The Handmaid’s Tale is complete and utter trash and shouldn’t be taught. Ugh.

Anyway, I did a lot of reading this week and I’m not really sure how.  I enjoyed all of it.  There’s a chance that I’ll finish up another one today.

Happy reading, and if it’s unhappy, don’t finish it!

Leave a Reply

