Tally Monday- April 20, 2015

Checked Out

  1. Daring Greatly by Brene Brown (Audio)
  2. The Idiot Girl and the Flaming Tantrum of Death by Laurie Notaro
  3. No Matter the Wreckage by Sarah Kay
  4. Tall Cool One by Zoey Dean

Bought

None!

Read

  1. Blonde Ambition by Zoey Dean
  2. “The Indian Uprising” by Ann Beattie
  3. The Pigman by Paul Zindel
  4. “The Night of the Satellite” by T.C. Boyle
  5. Thirty Things Every Woman Should Have and Should Know by 30– The editors of Glamour
  6. “After the Floor” by Peter Camron

TBR:

32

It’s been a weird week for me.  See, I did some great reading this week.  When I look at that list of things that I read, I can’t help thinking about how good all of the short stories were, even the ones that took me a little while to get into them.  Then there was Pigman which made me cry like a baby at my desk at work.  I’m still really enjoying the A-List series and 30 Things was the kind of book that I could just blow through and not realize that I was wasting my time until I was about 75% done.  It was a good week for reading.

But, then, it wasn’t.

I just wasn’t satisfied.  I don’t know what happened but one night last week I just started itching for Jane Austen.  I mean, a true and honest itch, the kind of itch that made me want to go back and read them all in publication order.  I wanted that kind of book.  I wanted to know about Mr. Darcy’s spruce beer and the gossip in the parlor.  So, while I was reading about teenagers making friends with a stranger older man, I was thinking about courtships and ballrooms.  I just couldn’t get past it.

Then, when I picked up my collection of short stories, no matter how much I was enjoying it, all I wanted was Alice Munro.  I’d moan and groan about how it wasn’t Munro and I never actually managed to get over it.

I’m not sure what to do about this.  I mean, I can’t very well just stop and read Austen or Munro, can I?  I have a pile to get through and I am trying just as hard as I can.

Currently, I’m trying The Hobbit again. At this point I’ve tried reading it and I’ve tried listening to it.  This is my last chance.  So far, 10 pages in, I’m enjoying it this time.  That’s promising.

Remember those couple of weeks when I bought book after book after book?  I’m trying not to buy another one this month.  Wish me luck!

Leave a Reply

