Tally Monday- May 4, 2015

Checked Out

  1. Private by Kate Brian

Bought

None!

Read

  1. The Crossover by Kwame Alexander
  2. We Are All Fine Here by Mary Guterson

TBR: 30

The oddness of my reading life continues.  I can’t settle down with a book.  Even when I really enjoy the book, I have a hard time making my way through it.  I privately blame The Hobbit which seems to be a complete pleasure killer for me.  Now I can see that keeping the digital copy and reading it before bed was basically a great way to squash my spirit like a little bug.  Though, I did sleep well for a couple of weeks.

I don’t mean to be hard on The Hobbit.  I really don’t.  This is not the first book that has caused these problems for me.  The first was The Grapes of Wrath, which I still haven’t finished in spite of having to read it for a class and having it both in print and audio.  I just could not and I couldn’t read anything else for about a month afterward either.

It’s not that I don’t want to read.  I do want to read.  The Mary Guterson that I read this week is a book that I absolutely love and I wanted to read and read and read until it all went down in one sitting.  I go to work and I look at my YA section and wish that I had a hammock in my library and that I could just lay back in it and read and read and read until I make it through the whole collection.  I want to read.

So, what is the problem?  Well, for one I share my house with a man who is currently obsessed with catching up on Game of Thrones and I don’t want to miss anything so I set my book aside.  Or, I just fall asleep.  Or, I just can’t sit.  But it has to get better soon.  I am very excited for me next couple of books…

I just wish I had that hammock.

Leave a Reply

