Tally Monday- June 15, 2015

Checked Out

None!

Bought

  1. Women in Love by D.H. Lawrence
  2. A Discovery of Witches by Deborah Harkness
  3. Christine by Stephen King
  4. Valley of the Dolls by Jacqueline Susan

Read

  1. How to Tell a Story and Other Essays by Mark Twain

TBR: 31

Yesterday I woke up tired.  I wasn’t just tired, though.  I was exhausted.  I could barely gather the energy to walk to ten feet to answer a text when my phone was plugged in.  I took a nap and had to really convince myself to get up.  I sat around all day.  In the morning, I told Hubby that I was going to finish King’s Finders Keepers by the end of the day.  Did I?  No.  You know what I did do?  I played hours of Dragon Age Inquisition and felt bad about feeling bad.

Stephen King is one of my favorite authors but he takes me a long time to get through.  I love his little short sub-chapters but they are probably also what holds me back.  I like to read a section and then go and do something else.  Yesterday it just made it too easy to slip away and play video games.

The past couple of weeks I have been spinning around like a whirling dervish again.  I have been behind on my to do list for at least those two weeks.  I find it hard to let myself off the hook and I catch myself working furiously around the house until I am too tired to read.  I get sucked into the world of television but I can’t even tell you what we watched last week.

I am trying to set myself up for better reading habits.  Better living habits, actually.  There is so much that I do in a day that doesn’t matter one lick to anyone but me and some of it doesn’t even matter to me!  I spin from task to task and don’t get any joy out of any of it.  For instance, last week I realized that I check my e-mail and Facebook while I eat lunch but also mid morning and mid afternoon and absolutely nothing is happening at that time.  It’s just me filling time when I could be reading.

Summer is upon us and that means it is one of my busier times at work plus all of those fun summer things that you can only do for three months in Michigan.  But right here, right now, I vow to make some time for myself.  Reading is how I keep myself sane, after all.

One thought on “Tally Monday- June 15, 2015

Leave a Reply

