Missoula by Jon Krakauer

Does Krakauer write like this all of the time? The man can write. I went into this book expecting to be upset, angry, disgusted, and unable to read it. Then I looked up and I had read over 100 pages and while I felt those things I felt them to a much lesser degree than I had expected. I kept reading. I kept feeling those things.

Sometimes, I felt them a lot. Did anyone else get the feeling that Kristen Pabst is the real wolrd equivalent of Professor Umbridge? I wanted to shake her.

Krakauer’s ability to write about the subject of date rape in a cool headed manner and maintain a distance from the subject was really what kept the book going. In each of the cases discussed, he told the story from both sides and laid out the facts as best he could. He managed to go through the legal processes involved without being boring. He managed not to say, “Can you believe this person? What a horrible person.”

This is an important book about an important subject. I honestly cannot imagine what a disaster it could be in the hands of someone less capable. The controversy of date-rape and how the cases are handled or mishandled is really the kind of thing that we should be teaching college-bound women. Other than that, I don’t really know what to say about this book because I do believe it is best discovered on one’s own. I cannot give you the facts. I cannot give you the numbers. I can give you the book recommendation.

Tally Monday- July 20, 2015

Checked Out

None!

Bought

  1. Collected Short Stories by William Faulkner
  2. Go Set a Watchman by Harper Lee

Read

  1. Missoula by Jon Krakauer
  2. “Kattekoppen” by Will Mackin

TBR: 33

Ugh.  UGH.  UGGGGHHHHHH!  That is the sound of me, buried under the pile of books that I want to read.  That is also the sound of me sitting in a hot, humid house and being too tired to read.  I just want to grab myself by the shoulders and shake me and yell, “Come on, self!  If you want to read, read!  Go sit in the cool basement!  Quit making tons of plans!  Screw off a little bit!”

Every July I go through this “dog days of summer” thing.  I tell myself that I can have a summer vacation.  I tell myself that there’s no more rushing around now that it’s hot.  Instead there are shores to visit and meats to grill and the pleasant shade of the front yard to read in.  Then I wake up one day and I realize that July is over half gone and I need to garden and do laundry and clean the house and what about that wedding and that open house?

Today I do not want to offer excuses but I also don’t want to blame myself.  Surely there is something about this American life that sucks all of my energy and time.  Surely it is the culture.  But me?  I just want to slow down and read more.  That’s alll that I can tell you this week.  I want to read… but there’s a lot of stuff to be done.

Ugh.