Invitation Only by Kate Brian

This is the problem I have with these oldish young adult series:  I constantly question whether or not I want to read them.  I finished Gossip Girl but I ditched the A-List.  I enjoyed Private but the second I picked up Invitation Only I started asking myself, “Do I like this?  Is it worth it?  Shouldn’t I be reading something else?”  I can’t help it.  I get sucked into these and I love them.

I’ve read all of the reviews about toxic friendships and bad relationships and shallow characters and I answer them with this: Isn’t that kind of the point?  Aren’t we getting some kind of sick satisfaction from reading about these people?  I know that I do.  I wanted to know what the twist was in this one.  There were two: one that I saw coming and one that was a shocker.  I got caught up in Reed’s feelings even though I knew they were different than mine would be.  I wanted to know what happened and now I NEED TO KNOW WHAT HAPPENED!

Ahem.  Pardon me.

All that Reed wanted was to get into Billings but now that she’s there it isn’t such a dream.  First, she is being forced to prove herself by completing a ridiculous amount of chores.  Second, her maybe ex boyfriend has gone missing and the cops are questioning students.  Third, her roommate is blackmailing her with pictures of her making out with a boy and drinking.  Fourth, said boy is courting her, heavily, and she is so not attracted to him.  Somehow, Reed has to manage all of that pressure and keep her grades up, all while trying to procure an invitation to a very exclusive party.

It seems like so much is going on here and it is.  That’s what keeps the reader going.  You almost get the same fuzzy confusion as Reed.  I am not arguing that she is a perfect character at all.  She does buy into unhealthy relationships and she is a bit dramatic with all of her “feeling like she’s being punched in the stomach.”  Still, these are so damn enjoyable that I’m going to keep going.

Leave a Reply

