Tally Monday- October 12, 2015

Checked Out

  1. Eclipse by Stephanie Meyer
  2. New Moon by Stephanie Meyer
  3. Breaking Dawn by Stephanie Meyer
  4. Westward the Tide by Louis Lamour (audio)
  5. Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix by J.K. Rowling (audio)

Bought

  1. The Stone Diaries by Carol Shields
  2. The Diary of Ellen Rimbaur
  3. Weaveworld by Clive Barker
  4. Lord Foul’s Bane by Stephen R. Donaldson

Read

  1. The Winter of Our Disconnect by Susan Maushart
  2. “The Found Boat” by Alice Munro

TBR: 32

I have a new goal.  My new goal is to get my TBR stack down to 30 and keep it there.  I’m going with the old advice about dieting.  You know, start small.  Accomplish some little goal.  You see, it’s worked so well for my diet that I think it might just work for my reading.  (That was sarcasm.  I haven’t lost weight in years.)

Hubby just came upstairs with a stack of books in his hand.  He dropped them on the kitchen island and took two off the top.  “These are yours,” he said.  He then gestured at the other pile and said, “These are Stephen King.”

We have a problem, dear readers, and it’s not getting any better.

There is something that misfires in my brain when I am around books.  I always think that I can read more.  If I just buckle down.  If I just pick up a serious coke addiction.  If I just tried harder, I could read more and so obviously I can buy more books.  I caught myself sulking around the library last week, moping because I wanted to buy a book.  Then we had to go to the town where my favorite used book store is on Saturday and I moped around there because I couldn’t find anything.  Obviously, I did.

I’ve picked up another odd tick.  I have a new thing for fantasy series, preferably long ones.  Except, I don’t actually read them.  I just really like to buy the first book in the series and pretend that I’ll buy the rest and read them someday.  Doh.

Right now I am rereading Twilight for the 10th anniversary.  You know what?  It’s actually good.  I hate to admit it but I made sure to go in with no biases this time and just take the book how it was.  I thought that Bella was just kind of an idiot and Edward was just kind of an ass but I was totally wrong.  Bella reminds me of myself as a 16 year old and her relationship with Edward reminds me of my relationship with Hubby.  Just because someone is kind of ornery doesn’t mean that they don’t love you or that you don’t have a loving relationship. What was a scoffing at the last time I read it?  That Edward makes her marry him?  Well, back when I first read it I was waiting for my fiance to come around and marry me finally.  Was a scoffing at them waiting to have sex?  That just seems like a stupid thing to scoff at now.  Maybe I grew the freak up.

Alright, you guys.  I am going to go read.  Hubby is relaxing with some King and I may as will wish to be a sparkly vampire some more, especially since this was the last thing on my to do list and it was a long day at work.  Lovies!

Leave a Reply

