Something I’ve Been Meaning to Tell You by Alice Munro

God.  You guys.  Alice Munro.  How did it take me so long to find this woman?  She can write.  My goodness she can write.  She writes what one of my professors called “quiet stories” and at then end of them I do not always know why I am wrecked.

My favorite story in this collection was “How I Met My Husband”, about a girl getting into not horrible trouble but thinking that it’s horrible trouble and by chance meeting her husband.  She lets him tell a different story, his story of their meeting, because she wants him to be happy.

They are those kind of stories, simple and funny things that hit hard.  Another, “The Found Boat,” had me in a state of suspense until the end.

I love the language.  I love the feeling.  I believe that I may end up being a huge fan of Munro.

Leave a Reply

