Tally Monday- December 28, 2015

Checked Out

  1. The Female Man by Joanna Ross
  2. Work by Thich Nhat Hanh

Bought

  1. The Last Unicorn by Peter S. Beale

Read

  1. Eleven by Patricia Reilly Guff
  2. On Murder Considered as One of the Fine Arts by Thomas de Quincey

TBR: 10

Assigned reading never really bothered me.  When I was in high school, I enjoyed being introduced to new things.  When I was in college it felt great to broaden my horizons and discuss the things I read with people who got it, mostly professors.  There have only been a handful of books that I couldn’t get through: Grapes of Wrath, Tender is the Night, and some stuff from the Age of Reason that I blame mostly on poor copier quality.

But it’s been a long time since I had assigned reading and it’s kind of killing me.

Right now I am reading The City of Ember.  It’s a junior book and it shouldn’t take me long to read.  Except that I discovered a problem with it.  It sets of my panic attacks.  Seriously, it does.  All of this talk of nothingness forever and ever really gets me all worked up.  Before you know it my brain is traveling down some dark roads, you guys.  Basically, I spent my whole weekend off avoiding reading or reading two pages and thinking that was enough.  But I have to get through it.  This is my career.  (And then I’ll look up what happens in the rest of the series because, you know, I need to know.)

Yesterday I took out my big fat King paperback, The Bachman Books, and sat it on the counter.  I kept looking at it and sighing, wanting nothing more than to meet up with an old friend and see someone get killed by a Coke machine or something.  Sigh.  Soon, my love.  Soon.

Happy reading, lovies.

Leave a Reply

