Tally Monday- February 8, 2015

Checked Out

  1. The Happiness Project by Gretchen Rubin

Bought

None!

Read

  1. A Modest Proposal by Jonathan Swift
  2. Cringe by Sarah Brown
  3. Three Tang Dynasty Poets
  4. H is for Hawk by Helen McDonald
  5. Lumberjanes by Noelle Stevenson
  6. Alone on the Beach at Night by Walt Whitman
  7. Work by Thich Nhat Hanh

TBR: 15

Holy.  Geez.  Do you guys realize that this week works out to a book per day?  The amazing thing is that I actually finished THREE books in one day.  In all fairness, the longest book on this list is H is for Hawk which is listened to.  I find no shame in short books.  In fact, I like them.  I do like big books too and I’m actually kind of jonsing for one.  I have a craving for a big, meaty story but I have a small pile of books to get through first.

Basically, at my new job I am trying to build better habits.  I make sure to take my breaks.  I don’t eat lunch out EVER.  I try to do good work.  And I’m trying to keep my check outs down.  At the last library it was common for me to have to maximum items out on my card.  Currently I have six out and even that is too high for me.

When I was little, I told my mother that I wanted to be a model and she told me that I wouldn’t like it.  “You have to wear what they want you to wear,” she explained.  It’s strange to think of me wanting anything like that now.  However, this memory hit me hard last week on the drive home one day.  Being a department head means that I need read more of the new books in my department while my 3000+ TBR list taunts me from the sidelines.  I need to be able to do both and while I catch up on my items checked out and I dive into some of those books I HAD to have and haven’t gotten around to yet, I will be thinking about what my reading life needs to look like after this month.  How can I read both for my department and for myself without feeling like I’ve lost my balance.

How did I read so much this week?  I’m not sure.  We know that I am *sad* right now and a part of it was the hard work of just hoisting myself onto the world.  When I’ve felt like I jsut want to sit down and mope, Ive made myself actually do something.  Laundry.  House work.  Crafting.  Reading.  Writing.  Last week I made it a point to clean the house and make dinner.  This week my primary mission is writing.  But I can’t do those things for hours on end and that is when I read.

I like starting the year ahead.  I am 5 books ahead on my Goodreads challenge and I know that will help me later in the year.  Especially when I dive into more King.

I hope my week is better and I hope your week is good.  Read on, my friends.  Read on.

Leave a Reply

