Living Dead in Dallas by Charlaine Harris

Again, I feel a little funny about my love for these books this second time around. I only made it through the last two in 2012 and I’m really looking forward to experiencing the third one over the next week or two. I wonder if the difference is that I’m listening to them this time instead of reading them. They are the kind of books that make it easy to get pulled in, even if you have just been distracted by the asshole who cut you off and all of the terrible things you are wishing you could say to him through a megaphone.

My opinions of this book are completely different this time around.

1. There are a number of reasons to give these books a shot. My reasons are that I finished the show years ago and kind of miss it but am positive that I cannot convince Hubby to watch them again and I also have tons of shows I’d like to watch for the first time. I also get to jonsing for books that take place in the south once in a while. Finally, the stories are funny and familiar and a little dirty in places and terribly amusing. Also, listening to sex noises on an audio makes me blush something furious. At least it’s not time to put my convertible top down yet. I always worry about people hearing what I’m listening to because I’m kind of a prude.

2. I do NOT hate Sookie anymore. It’s funny that four years ago I wrote that I hated her and then listed a ton of great things about her. I like her and I am rooting for her. She IS special and she IS brave and she IS smarter that you think. The last time around I gave up on these books once the Word a Day calendar showed up for the third time (which was the second time in the third book). Then I thought that it was Harris’s way of making Sookie smarter but now I see the real reason it irked me. Sookie isn’t dumb and the words on her calendar are not that smart. When she uses them, it feels like a disservice to her character. Maybe Harris wasn’t trying to make her sound smarter but I really don’t think they need to be there.

3. I still am not a fan of Bill but his greasiness didn’t bother me as much this time around. I have some personal theories about this that mostly revolve around how much me and my life have changed in the past four years but I will spare you the details.

4. I do still love Eric though. Who the hell wouldn’t? He reduces me to girlish giggles every time.

My Review from 2012:
When I finished reading the first book in the Southern Vampires series, I wasn’t sure as to whether or not I should continue. I decided that I would try the second book and see how it went. It went way better than I expected. I even made those audible reading noises, gasps and giggles. I hate that I enjoyed it so much, really, because that means that I’ll have to read the third.

If you are a fan of True Blood, I would say that it is worth giving the books a chance. They are similar enough to the show to feel familiar but different enough to keep you reading. I spent a lot of time comparing season two to book two and discussing the differences with my boyfriend who is watching the show as well.

I really hate Sookie, though. I am glad that she is not like Bella in Twilight. She is special. She’s not just a mopey girl who managed to fall in with a vampire. She even has a little more independence, though I would argue that she doesn’t have much. She is very strong, really. She is brave and not just when it means saving the person she loves. It is even when it means saving someone she doesn’t really care for. In this book, she sheds some of her innocence. It actually gets a bit dirty in parts.

Another character thing that I noticed is that I really don’t like Bill anymore. He’s just so greasy without meaning to be. I prefer Eric who is greasy because he’s Eric and makes no attempt to hide it.

Leave a Reply

