Tally Monday- August 1, 2016

Checked Out

  1. The Drowned World by J.G. Ballard
  2. Jughead, vol. 1 by Chip Zdarsky
  3. The Geek’s Guide to Unrequited Love by Sarvenaz Tash

Bought

  1. Future Shock by Alvin Toffler
  2. Melody by V.C. Andrews
  3. Heart Song by V.C. Andrews
  4. Unfinished Symphony by V.C. Andrews
  5. Music in the Night by V.C. Andrews
  6. Natchez Burning by Greg Iles

Read

  1. The Bees by Carol Ann Duffy
  2. “Queen Elizabeth” by Brad Felver
  3. Witch Baby by Francesca Lia Block
  4. How to Be a Person in the World by Heather Havrilesky
  5. Dead in the Family by Charlaine Harris

TBR 18

If I had to choose a way to describe the last week, it would be the phrase “Fuck it.”  Seriously.  And I can’t even tell you why.  My mental state has been something like a game of pin ball.  I’ve fluctuated from “Look at what I’ve made of my life!  I’ve got so much and I’m super together and awesome and I’ve done everything right.” to “What the fuck is wrong with me?” lol.  And I’m not saying any of it for your pity, because I definitely need none, but because it’s kind of seeped into my reading life.

Maybe it’s not that obvious from my check out list at present.  Of the books on that list, one is for my book club, one is a trade paperback I’ve been waiting for and need to “preview” for the collection, and one is a book that has literally been thrust into my hands by two different people.  Oh, but my request list… It’s up to 6.  I’ll give myself a “get out fo jail free” card because the new Harry Potter is on there and a book of poetry but the other four were books I NEEDED RIGHT NOW OMG IT CAN’T WAIT ANOTHER MONTH UNTIL MY GOAL OF READING DOWN MY TBR LIST IS OVER.  Wavering dedication to goals is, indeed, a hallmark of mine.  Oh well.  Fuck it.

Something similar with my purchases.  Hubby and I made the trip to town Saturday to get my oil changed… and get breakfast… and LOOK!  The used book store!  I recently discovered that I had 124 credits there.  It’s only responsible to use them up, right?!  Hubby has credits too, which is kind of funny because we could survive on mine for a good long time.  The pricing there is half off the cover price without credit and 75% off the cover price with credit.  I think.  I don’t really know or care anymore.  I carry an envelope with cash just for used book purchases and it’s the best life decision I’ve ever made.

I bought the Future Shock because they were just talking about it on NPR, even though I’ll probably never read it.  The V.C. Andrews is a thing for me lately.  I’ve been craving some melodrama and thought this was a complete set only to realize there is one more.  Finally, the Iles was purchased completely because it was a big ass paperback and I kept looking at it.  I’d like to take a trip down to 2nd and Charles one day, see if I can snag some more Andrews because I HAVE A PROBLEM.

Last but not least, I had one of those reading weeks where I felt like I spun my tires all week long only to end up with an impressive list at the end.  Some poetry, a short story, the book I was reading before bed, a net galley, and an audiobook.  Not too shabby.  On the other hand, my TBR number is deceptively low.  At the beginning of the week I got the urge to read five different things at once and now have something ridiculous like three books started, besides my usual spread of audio, bedtime, pre-journaling, and actual book I’m reading.  Oh well.  Fuck it.

And so, that is how “fuck it” completely and utterly describes my reading life right now.  Whatever.  Life is short.  Worrying about my reading life isn’t worth the trouble.  So, from me to you, sit back, relax, crack whatever book looks good at the moment, and just say, “Fuck it.”

P.S.  I don’t think I’ve ever sworn so much in a post before.  Oh well…  Fuck it. lol

Leave a Reply

