Tally Monday- September 12, 2016

Checked Out

  1. Hark! A Vagrant! by Kate Beaton
  2. Citizen by Claudia Rankine
  3. Gormenghast by Mervyn Peake
  4. Jem and the Holograms, vol. 3 by Kelly Thompson
  5. The Notebook by Nicholas Sparks (e)

Bought

None!  I meant to buy one on Friday but I think Hubby distracted me on purpose.

Read

  1. How We Weep and Laugh at the Same Thing by Michel de Montaigne (LBC)
  2. A Map of the Lost World by Rick Hilles
  3. Monster, vol. 3 by Naoki Urasawa

TBR 25

I didn’t want to read at all last weekend.  It was a great weekend but I didn’t want to read and so I mostly did not.  I did manage to almost finish two issues of Reader’s Digest, a subscription we were gifted by my father-in-law.  I have a pile of magazines that I haven’t read since the beginning of the year and I cannot bring myself to throw them out until I read them because I have issues.  So, I poked at those.  But when I wasn’t doing stuff, and we did do stuff this weekend, I wanted to sit and stare at screens, a longing I gave into.  Yesterday I actually sat on the couch for about 13 hours, only getting up to pee and eat and let cats in or out.  This crazy thing happens to some people when they are pregnant and it is happening to me.  I am tired.  My body is like, “Dude, growing a human here.  Chill out.”  And stopping is always something I have a hard time with.

Friday we were at Frankenmuth Autofest, which I love and which is a family tradition.  There is a used bookstore up there and you know that I love used bookstores.  It’s a little more expensive than I like and I don’t actually care for the way it is organized but we usually stop in.  I was thinking that I would on Friday because I don’t own Rebecca by Daphne du Maurier and I was thinking about reading it.  I never made it there, though.  Instead I played Skeeball in the arcade and looked at old cars and at nachos and ice cream.  I only realized we hadn’t stopped the next day.

I finally gave in to the impulse and ordered some books at work last week.  Actually, there was a book that I suddenly couldn’t wait for that I requested that nobody will send me for a while and that kind of hurts my soul.  It’s hard no to ask Hubby to check Barnes and Noble for it even though I know I won’t read it for a while.

I have about 15 minutes left in my audio of Deadlocked and then I will have one book left in the Sookie Stackhouse series.  For the last few books, I’ve been ready for the series to end when I start them and by the end of the books I’m wishing it didn’t have to end.  I know that I am going to miss Bon Temps and the dozens of characters I’ve gotten to know.  The end of a series is always bittersweet.  It’s all “I can’t believe I finished it!  I can’t believe it’s over…”

I like paranormal books.  I want to throw that out there.  People are always like, “Please don’t tell me you like vampire books.” You know, I do.  Maybe I’m not a Twilight fan but I enjoyed them.  I like vampires and witches and werewolves and ghosts and all of that.  No shame.  And I’m kind of feeling like Sookie is about to leave a hole in my life.

I mentioned last week that fall is here for me.  School is back in and leaves are starting to change up here in Michigan.  I have a craving for apples and slasher films and…  Paranormal Activity.  Who knows if I’ll get any reading done at this rate!

Leave a Reply

