Tally Monday- September 26, 2016

Checked Out

  1. On the Banks of Plum Creek by Laura Ingalls Wilder
  2. Pioneer Woman by Ree Drummond
  3. Hex by Thomas Olde Heuvelt

Bought

None!

Read

  1. Hark!  A Vagrant by Kate Beaton
  2. The Terrors of the Night by Thomas Nashe

TBR 22

You may not realize this, but I keep track of my Tally Monday stuff on paper all week before I write and entry.  I make a sheet in my notebook with the three categories on it and record things as I go.  That was I am less likely to forget that, say, I checked out an e-book for while waiting for my other e-book or that I checked out a new audiobook when I started the last Sookie Stackhouse book on Monday.  I forget these things.  I forget that I am in the middle of something like a dozen books.

Usually my paper is divided relatively equally into thirds.  For the last couple of weeks, though, I have been giving myself more room in the “Read” category.  Wishful thinking.  Or maybe it’s positive thinking.  I hope that I can fill the space.

I am still in a reading slump.  Like I said, that’s fine.  It happens.  usually I get upset and force my way through some books but right now I am just riding the wave.  It was only last night that I began to wonder if I was using this slump as an excuse to pick up some bad habits.  I’ve spent a lot of time looking at my phone.  A lot.  I only noticed because I have a migraine right now and my phone screen seems to irritate it more than, say, a television screen or a computer screen.  Don’t ask me why.  The light?  The size?  Anyway, I probably picked my phone up and put it back down approximately 50 times last night, all while Hubby and I were playing games and kind of watching TV.

You know that feeling you get after literally binging on television?  Kind of gross and dazed out?  I get that after about 10 minutes on my phone and I would be lying if I said that I haven’t felt that way a lot lately.  It’s gotten bad, too.  I used to have my phone free time starting at 9:30 when I made my tea.  Now it’s normal for me to play with it in bed at 11:10 when I should be asleep.  I catch myself checking it constantly at work or in the car, even just clicking the home button to see if I have a message.  My charger has always been on the kitchen counter but has recently made its way next to the couch.  I hear phantom vibes.

So, after our games were done and I made myself some tea last night (a ritual I have gladly taken back up now that I know pregnancy is going to make me have to pee like ten times during the night no matter what), I caught myself grabbing my phone and looking at FB for the twentieth time.  I put it down.  Then I caught myself starting a game of Candy Crush.  I put it down.  I realized that I would probably feel a lot better if I was reading and if I am truly in a reading slump that I could at least color.  I am going to put the phone down, you guys.  Back to my Phone Free time.  Back to my charger being in the kitchen.

Something interesting (and fucking annoying, while we’re at it) happens when you’re pregnant.  Everyone has an opinion about your pregnancy.  A handful of moms have advice about EVERYTHING.  And, finally, everything that happens in your life is because of your pregnancy.  If I am tired, someone it bound to say that it’s because I’m pregnant and then suggest that I drink warm milk before bed and sleep on my side even though the real reason I am tired is most likely because I woke up in the middle of the night for two hours.  Plus, I hate milk and I already sleep on my side.  When I fell down the steps last weekend, everyone was very sure that I needed to go to the doctor even though my only my ass hurt.  (My doctor laughed and said that people worry too much and as long as I felt fine it was okay.)  This migraine?  Well, obviously it’s the pregnancy, you guys!  Not that I’ve been getting migraines since puberty.

How does this tie into reading?  Well, I usually really love FB and I love to share things that I find funny and frustrating about my life.  For instance, I thought it was hilarious that I fell down the steps, even though my ass still hurts, because I’ve done it three times in the exact same conditions AND I checked my butt for bruises in a public bathroom mirror. Hahahahaha.  Anyway, I haven’t been saying much lately and I know that no topic is safe.  I am sure that if I mention my reading slump, someone is going to tell me how they couldn’t read at all while they were pregnant, someone else will suggest romance as an escape, and someone else will tell me *wink wink nudge nudge* that I won’t have much time for reading soon!

Well, you know, fuck it.

If you all want to read this week, I hope that works out for you!  As for me, I have a short loan library book to try and a phone to attempt ignoring.  Wish me luck!

 

Leave a Reply

