Tally Monday- December 5, 2016

Checked Out

None!

Bought

  1. Confessions of a Penmonkey by Chuck Wendig
  2. Revenge of the Penmonkey by Chuck Wendig
  3. 30 Days in the Word Mines by Chuck Wendig
  4. 500 Ways to Write Harder by Chuck Wendig
  5. 250 Things You Should Know About Writing by Chuck Wendig
  6. 500 Ways to be a Better Writer by Chuck Wendig
  7. 500 Ways to Tell a Better Story by Chuck Wendig
  8. 500 Ways to Write Better by Chuck Wendig
  9. Invasive by Chuck Wendig

Read

  1. Little Town on the Prairie by Laura Ingalls Wilder
  2. The Torrents of Spring by Ernest Hemingway
  3. Razzle Dazzle Unicorn by Dana Simpson
  4. Well, they are gone, and here I must remain by Samuel Taylor Coleridge

TBR 20

My world is all books right now.  I’m watching the slow but steady decrease in TBR piles around my house.  (Really, I have, like, three TBR piles: TBR, nonfiction, and Little Black Classics.)  I am working my way through The Closet of Death and it’s Boxes of Many Books.  On my to do list for this week is also going through Hubby’s books again and adding the keepers to The Closet of Death.  Finally, at work we’ve selected our five books for the middle school Battle of the Books and it’s time for me to plow through the three that I haven’t read yet and even though I’ll be on maternity leave during the actual program.

I am glad that my life is all books.  Books are great.  Books are so much easier to deal with than people.  You may recall that I turned over a new leaf last week and was seeking out joy.  Well, that leaf stayed turned for about three and a half glorious days.  I ate things I loved and I laughed with Hubby and we had some great conversations.  I snuggled cats and took time to breath AND still managed to get more things done in less time.  I finished up NaNoWriMo with a flourish that left me feeling exhilarated and ready to keep writing.  I chatted cheerfully with everyone.  Then complicated people and situations arose that crushed my little spirit and left me wanting to escape into a good book while in the middle of some long winded Romantic poetry.

You may notice that all of the books that I purchased last week were written by Chuck Wendig.  I started reading Chuck’s blog last spring when I was looking for some ideas on how to edit (which I am terrible at) and he came up on the Google.  I am not one to take writing advice, usually.  I don’t seek it out.  I know that writing is something that I have to do on my own, in my own way, and that’s kind of what Chuck preaches.  Butt to chair and write, make it work for you.  These books were part of a bundle that I paid $20 for.  They’re still waiting to be uploaded to my Kindle but once they are I am counting on them to give me some steam when mine is faltering.  Plus, he’s a damn funny guy.  I actually purchased Invasive while I was writing this because I saw it was on sale for $2.99.  Fuck it. lol.

Strange reading this week.  I keep a list of favorite authors and their works in a Google Doc.  These are authors who I love so much that I want to read all of their books.  A while ago, I had a hankering for some Hemingway and decided to bite into this short one just to scratch the itch.  But I didn’t like it.  It wasn’t Hemingway enough for me.  I understood that I was missing the joke.  Apparently, this whole book was written as a dig at Sherwood Anderson but I don’t know anything about Anderson.  I mean, I know he wrote Winesburg, Ohio and that I read it and I think that I enjoyed it because I think about it sometimes.  That’s a pretty limited knowledge though.  I thought that maybe it would have been better if it didn’t fly right over my head but, reading the reviews, I see that a lot of people who got the joke didn’t like it either.  Oh well.   My next Hemingway is The Sun Also Rises which I’ve read twice already and which was my first Hemingway.  I can’t wait to revisit it sometime in the next decade.

I didn’t review anything that I read this week, and with good reason.  I fell into the series trap with Little Town on the Prairie.  I don’t think that I can say anything about it that I haven’t already said about the other books in the series, even though I really enjoyed it.  Razzle Dazzle Unicorn fell into the same category.  It’s the fourth Phoebe and Her Unicorn book and I enjoyed it but all I can say is that I love these comics just as much as all of the previous ones.  (There was, however, a great joke about D&D where Marigold informs Phoebe that unicorns play a similar game called Houses and Humans.  I died. lol)  Finally, we have Well, they are gone, and here I must remain which was a Little Black Classic.  I usually LOVE reading poetry but this little collection was soooooo long winded and a total fucking downer.  I was just glad to finish it this morning and those last three poems were probably my favorite.

This week I am starting in on a young adult about date rape, so that should be a real pick-me-up.  (That was sarcasm, in case you missed the tone.)  Hopefully that will be followed up by a cult classic of counterculture literature that I am waiting to receive.  There will be some more poetry and another Little House audiobook, plus my continued reread of The Handmaid’s Tale, which I’ve been reading in ebook before bed.  None of that is bad.  Hopefully some of it is even good.

Happy reading, now with Christmas cookies!

Leave a Reply

