Tally Monday- January 23, 2017

Checked Out

  1. Ramona the Pest by Beverly Cleary
  2. Beezus and Ramona by Beverly Cleary

Bought

  1. The Castle of Otranto by Horace Walpole

Read

  1. A Single Shard by Linda Sue Park
  2. The handmaid’s Tale by Margaret Atwood

TBR 20

I did it!  I finished reading all of my Battle of the Books books by Monday night!  I was prepared to do my book talks and I earned myself the reward of playing Trivial Pursuit.  Of course, I haven’t been in the mood to play since then and we got an ice storm Monday night and I didn’t have to do my book talks.  They’re rescheduled for tomorrow.  But I DID IT and that is something!  Besides which, it gave me a real reading kick in the ass.  I tore through most of a book on management last week too, though I’ll admit to a DNF because I felt the book was a bit sexist.

Hey, by the way, men are not the only people who are uncomfortable with crying.  Like, if you cry in front of me there is a damn good chance that I am going to excuse myself to the bathroom.  Like, if you’re my close friend it’s a little easier.  Just a little. lol.

I made myself the goal of reading two books a week for a while.  A vague goal, yes?  I’m not sure how long I want to aim for that but it will be enough to clear my library books with time to spare.  What I did not expect this week was to finish The Handmaid’s Tale.  On Friday I was at 90% but this was one of those surprise ebooks that ends at 93%.

The Handmaid’s Tale was a reread for me and Hubby is listening to it on audio.  It’s been fun.  I was ahead of him because I started it a month or two ago and read little bits at a time in bed.  Once in awhile he’ll come to me with a prediction and that was cool because I honestly could not remember how it ended.  I read it for a class about a decade ago and even though it really stuck with me there were a lot of things that I forgot.  One thing I love about Hubby though is how much he seems to get feminism lately.  He may have been “sick of hearing about it” in October, but November flipped a switch for him.  One of the most insightful things he had to say about Atwood’s book was in reply to a friend who suggested on FB that “every woman” read it.  Hubby’s thought was that EVERYBODY should read it because even though it’s told from the woman’s point of view, imagine how shitty it was for some men too.  He gets it.  What effects women effects men too.  I adore him.

Moving forward, here’s where I stand:  I have 9 books checked out from the library, one DVD set (Eureka Season 4!), and two audiobooks.  I’m currently listening to Beezus and Ramona, which is fun and funny and fast.  I’m currently reading this month’s One Story and then I’ll be tackling Lady Killer, a comic book about a housewife who doubles as a hit-woman.  On the Kindle I’ve started The Castle of Otranto, which I read about on book riot last week and downloaded for free.  Instead of reading the oldest thing on my Kindle, I’ve decided just to grab the next one in line.  I am LOVING my Kindle App on my phone something fierce right now because I can read while I eat.  I have currently put my Little Black Classics on hold for a while, but will finish them this year, dammit.

Okay you guys!  That’s it for me on this Monday morning.  I’m going to work my ass off and read my eyes out. May you do the same!

Leave a Reply

