Lady Killer by Joelle Jones

I probably am not going to have much to say about this book, because I am not the best at reviewing comics, but I will lead off right away by saying that it was awesome.  It reminded me of King’s American Vampire I little bit- the art and the gore and the throw back to another time.  It was like the combination of those elements was perfect.

I have a little bit of an idealistic crush on the 50’s.  Don’t get me wrong, I am so proud of all of the advancements women have made and I am a feminist but there is still a part of me that wants to put on a shirt dress and wash the sheets every day.  I ended up in an interesting place in that while I was reading this, I was listening to the Ramona Quimby books by Beverly Cleary on audio.  My 50’s nostalgia was at a peak and it was doused in blood and carried a knife.

On the surface, Josie is the perfect 50’s housewife.  Her mother-in-law lives with her and suspects something is going on though, perhaps an affair.  Josie often leaves her daughters with her while she goes “to the store” or “runs a bake sale.”  What Josie is really doing is double duty as hit woman and in her boss’s mind her family is starting to get in the way of her killing.  Of course, Josie has principles.  She won’t use a gun.  She won’t kill a child she is sent to take out.  And those are things that get her into trouble.  When her boss puts a hit out on her, Josie decides to take things into her own hands in order to save the other part of her life.

I was under the impression that the second volume of this collection was out and now I cannot wait until May.  I loved it and it made me want to be a bad ass with perfectly coiffed hair.

Leave a Reply

