Tally Monday- February 13, 2017

Checked Out

  1. Ramona and Her Father by Beverly Cleary

Bought

Through the power of willpower, none!

Read

  1. Ramona the Brave by Beverly Cleary

TBR: 19

Here is my true State of the Union:

I am over halfway through The Duke and I by Julia Quinn.  It is very good and I am really enjoying it.  I just have been doing other things.  I’ve made a couple of good pushes though.  When I was home sick on Tuesday I read 120 pages.  Yesterday I probably cleared 60.  I am hoping to finish it and my next book this week.  Romance is not usually my bag but it is a nice change and I have been fighting myself about buying the whole series because I kind of need to know about the rest of the Bridgerton siblings.

I am halfway through the audiobook of Big Magic by Elizabeth Gilbert.  I picked it up after hearing someone talk about it in regards to creating the life they want.  I needed a little bit of a kick in the ass, a little bit of inspiration.  I am enjoying it and will easily finish it this week and hopefully another Ramona audio.  While taking a breather from Ramona wasn’t my intention, it has been kind of nice.

I am 2% into War and Peace.  I was hoping to be further but I keep reminding myself to sit back and enjoy the journey.  It may take me a year to read this, as I am only reading it on my Kindle at night when I go to bed or cannot get back to sleep.  It may take me way less time as I may be reading my Kindle while nursing.  We’ll see what happens.  I’ll get there when I get there and it’s stupid to disregard a book because of length just because I want to hit some magic number.

(An aside:  My goal for the year is to read 52 books.  I usually aim for 100 but I took it down a notch because, well, I’m going to have a baby and I have no idea what my life is going to look like.  HOWEVER, countless people have told me how I’m not going to ever have time to read again and how the baby is the most important thing in my life now and I should just dedicate myself 100% to being a mom.  And to these people I say a giant “Fuck you.”  There are many people who are lucky enough to stay home and dedicate themselves to their children and there are many people who are happy to do so.  I am not.  I am a mother, wife, kitty mama, librarian, reader, writer, friend, Mustang driver, and so much more.  I need MORE, constantly.  So, basically, I kind of want to read War and Peace and 99 other books this year in protest. lol.)

If I’m being honest, I have no idea where the last week went.  I was sick.  Then I was behind.  Then I had a family emergency to attend to.  Then I was behind again.  Then I had a great adventure with my most favoritest person (Hubby!).  Then I was exhausted.  Where did my time go?  To a lot of surprises and also to putting energy into not dying.

I’m happy to see this Monday.  I have been home sick for the last two and I am happy to be at work and to be working.  The sun is out and I have big ideas and big plans and I am trying to keep my energy and enthusiasm up.  I hope that it’s a good week, for all of us!  So go kick some ass!  Whatever you are, be a good one! ❤

Leave a Reply

