Tally Monday- February 20, 2017

Checked Out

  1. Ramona and Her Father by Beverly Cleary
  2. Ramona and Her Mother by Beverly Cleary
  3. Ramona Quimby, Age 8 by Beverly Cleary

Bought

  1. Big Magic by Elizabeth Gilbert

Read

  1. Step Aside, Pops by Kate Beaton
  2. Big Magic by Elizabeth Gilbert
  3. Ramona and Her Father by Beverly Cleary
  4. The Duke and I by Julia Quinn
  5. Be Here Now by Ram Dass

TBR 18

My first reaction after typing up this week’s list was, “Man.  I didn’t get through two of my main library books.  What a bummer.”

What a bummer???

I finished five books this week!  My reading life was deep and wide!  I killed one book of comics, which was hilarious and I loved.  I killed two audiobooks, one of which I actually bought in paperback so I can highlight it.  I killed a highly entertaining romance.  Finally, I killed a book on spirituality.

See me over here?  Standing on the corpses of books, celebrating in my victory?

It’s true that I did not make it through everything that I intended but I also made it through a lot more.  AND, the next book on my library stack is Gabi, Girl in Pieces by Isabel Quintero.  Yesterday I took down the first 90 pages with ease.  It’s funny and fast and serious and wonderful so far.  I have every intention of tearing through it.  My next two books are young adult and should go pretty quickly, but I make no promises.  I could get worn out on the whole YA thing.

I have five work weeks left until maternity leave and 7 library books left.  I had better get on it.

The past week has been rough on my sleeping.  Last week I had three rough nights in a row.  I was awake 1, 2, and 3 hours in the middle of the night.  The final night of my anti-sleep pattern was the 3 hour wake up and I was pretty sure that I was going to die.  Thursday night I slept well enough and Friday I night I slept like a rock.  Then Saturday I entered the pattern again.  Just five hours of sleep and I couldn’t fall asleep when I tried to nap yesterday.  Last night I managed about 4.5 hours of sleep.  It’s going to be a rough day.

What I find so frustrating about it is that I could be using that time to read but I don’t.  Instead I stubbornly lay in one position with my eyes closed and insist that I am falling asleep for hours.  Last night I could have read so much War and Peace.  Or maybe I could have just read a chapter or two and actually gone back to sleep.  When I got up this morning I could have kicked myself.

I have a lot that I want to do this week and it looks like I am going to be working on minimum energy.  That’s okay though.  We’ll see what happens.  It’s all an experiment.

May you stand on a pile of book corpses as well, dear reader.

Leave a Reply

