Tally Monday- April 10, 2017

Checked Out

None

Bought

None

Read

None

TBR: Goodreads says 14

I am not one of those people who need to stay up and read “just one more chapter.”  In fact, I am not usually one of those people who needs to read one more chapter.  I dip in and out of books.  I read a chapter here and a chapter there while I work or clean or hang out with Hubby.  I have never been able to read for long periods of time because it makes me tired, gives me a headache, and leaves me feeling fuzzy.  I love to read and this is how it works for me.

So imagine my surprise when last night, tired from a long day of chores and taking care of a baby, I went to bed and laud there, staring at the ceiling and thinking about how much I wanted to read War and Peace.  When Ian woke up at 4ish, I fed him a bottle and settled down to pump, which is when I’ve been doing most of my reading.  When I got back in bed, I couldn’t sleep.  I wanted to read more Tolstoy.  I kind of had to laugh at myself.  I never ever dreamed that this would be the book I sunk right into or that any Russian literature at all would have me wanting to skip out on sleep to read, especially when sleep is as precious as it currently is.

I am not always hooked on the story. I am not a huge fan of the war and history.  But this is one of those books where I can’t tell you who my favorite character is.  I love so many of them.  When I am deep in Natasha’s story, I am sure that she is my favorite but as soon as we flip to Pierre I realize that HE is my favorite and so on and so on.

I am 55% done with the book and a large part of me wants to spend this week finishing it.  Why not?  I mean, it’s not every day that you get to be on maternity leave.  I am, at present, a housewife and most of the housewives I know, though I am definitely not speaking for all of them, are really good at binge watching Netflix and updating their Facebook constantly.  Surely I can get lots done and read the second half of War and Peace this week.

Ian seems to enjoy it sometimes too.  This kid will have the best vocabulary in the county if I keep this up!

Hopefully next week I can report that I am finished.  I cannot stress enough that it is a GREAT book and totally worth the effort.

Leave a Reply

