Tally Tuesday- April 25, 2017

Checked Out

None!

Bought

  1. Imperium by Robert Harris

Read

  1. War and Peace by Leo Tolstoy

TBR Fuck if I know.

Yes, I am a day late.  Truth time!  I gave myself a few days off from life.  I didn’t work on my to do list.  I ate delicious foods.  I took a couple of little naps.  It was wonderful.  Actually, the whole weekend and into Monday was great.  I saw lots of people I enjoy spending time with and I had my favorite drinks and I just chilled.  Plus, I kind of wanted to put writing off until I finished War and Peace so that I would actually have something to show for the week, completely forgetting that I bought a book in the middle of the night.

Let’s talk about this purchase first.  I spend a lot of time up in the middle of the night.  I check the Amazon daily deals usually at some point when I am making bottles.  I sit on my couch with my Kindle and read while I do this daunting, but mostly just annoying, task and Monday morning I happened to recognize the name Robert Harris.  Why?  Because he’s Nick Hornby’s brother-in-law and I’ve been reading about how great he is for years.  So I bought it.  Whatever.  Maybe I’ll even read it someday.

Of course, the big news is that I finished War and Peace.  I loved it.  I really did.  That second epilogue is a bit much but the rest of it, even the war pars that I kept saying I didn’t like, was pretty damn good.  These characters will stick with me for a long time and I’m going to miss them.  I never ever expected to like it.  I just wanted to read it to be a snot to everyone who said I wouldn’t have time to read after I had a baby.  Ha!  Proved you guys wrong!  Ian probably has very deep thoughts about the free-will of mankind.

A review will follow but I cannot even wrap my head around that yet.

Okay, this week:  I’m about to finish a Little Black Classic, take on the latest One Story, and then we are off to the next big book.  Stephen King’s The Stand, the complete and uncut edition.  I’m excited!

Leave a Reply

