The Steel Flea by Nikolai Leskov

I had one of those interesting experiences where the universe seemed to place things perfectly.  This Little Black Classic happened to fall after my reading of War and Peace.  A number of times I thought about taking a break from the Tolstoy to read the Leskov but I thought that I would end up confused.  I managed to put it off and so my experience was kind of like reading Tales of the Beedle Bard after Harry Potter and the Deathly Hollows.

The Steel Flea is kind of like a zany fable and it was vastly enjoyable.  The Russians and the English are always trying to outdo one another and the result is a tiny steel flea with an even tinier wind up key and a simple craftsman on an adventure.

This is one of my favorite Little Black Classics so far.

Leave a Reply

