Tally Monday- July 17, 2017

Checked Out

  1. Where the Heart Is by Billie Letts (e-book)
  2. Unicorn Crossing by Dana Simpson
  3. Believe Me by Eddie Izzard (audio)
  4. The Unwritten: Inside Man by Mike Carey

Bought

  1. Pines by Blake Crouch (e)
  2. Wayward by Blake Crouch (e)
  3. The Last Town by Blake Crouch (e)
  4. Wolf Hall by Hillary Mantel (e)

Read

  1. Anne of Avonlea by L.M. Montgomery (a)

Currently Reading: The Night CircusFat is the New 30Where the Heart Is

When I looked at the list above, my brain started singing a song from The Wizard of Oz.  Seriously…  “What happened was just this.  The wind began to switch the house to pitch.  And suddenly the hinges started to unhitch.”  Why?  Because what happened in my life and reading life over the last week was like a fucking tornado.

We’ll start with a little insight into the last week.  I had a migraine for six days.  On the fifth day I finally gave up on work and went home early to nap.  Ahead of me?  A big event that I was super excited about and I didn’t want to have a migraine through!  Needless to say, a six day migraine slows you right the fuck down.  On top of that, I was short at least two hours of sleep Tuesday, Wednesday, Thursday, and Friday nights.  I was pretty much brain dead.

And Friday TWO PEOPLE I ABSOLUTELY LOVE GOT MARRIED!  And the wedding was gorgeous and so much fun!  My MOL kept LD and I got to have a night of drinking and dancing irresponsibly with some of my favorite people in the world.  Because my friends are the shit.  They are smart and fun and they deal with me and I seriously could not as for more.

Then I spent Saturday and Sunday recovering and giving myself a break.  I colored a lot and I day drank yesterday.  I watched something like eight episode of The X-Files.  And I don’t regret a thing about it!  I needed a break!

But, let’s talk about reading, shall we?

I have no fucking clue what I was thinking checking out all of those books.  Okay, I ordered the second The Unwritten while I was reading the first one and thought that it would be done the day that I was reading it.  I got the Eddie Izzard because I love him and I had heard that he goes off on funny tangents in the audiobook.  I figured it was worth it to take a quick break from the Anne books.  I totally didn’t even know that there was another Phoebe and Her Unicorn book until Thursday and I grabbed it off the shelf right away.  Finally, I’ve been like half through Where the Heart Is all year and thought I’d like to finish it.  (It’s good for the numbers!)

Then I was like, “Fuck it.  I can’t read my journals right now.  I have a problem again.”

It’s hard because I actually really like how I have been doing things since the baby was born.  I LOVE just choosing my next book and rolling with it.  I LOVE the wiggle room.  I feel like my reading life is much richer and like I will get around to reading a lot more stuff that I actually want to read.  But old habits die hard.

I don’t want things to keep piling up.

Obviously, the way to solve this is to buy a shit ton of e-books because they don’t take up space.  I hope you can feel my eye roll from all the way over here.  Also, I bought those books because of my birthday money.  This year I got $150 for my birthday and I was so super excited!  I was like, “Hell, this will almost pay off one of my baby bills.”  But Hubby told me not to use it to pay bills but to buy myself fun stuff.  Instead of paying bills with it, I pissed it away a little at a time.  Not on fun stuff either.  I mean, I bought beer with it once and I think some Taco Bell.  Instead it went to… formula and cat food mostly.

I was feeling a bit bitter about all of this so I bought a ton of e-books this week because I didn’t get to use my cash for used books.  Adulting is shit.  I’m pretty much over it. lol.

This week, let’s read.  Ok?  Ok.

Leave a Reply

