Podcast Tuesday- September 12, 2017

Podcasts: 1191

Something happens to me every August.  It’s part of the reason that I hate August.  For me, August is the cruelest month.

Autumn has always been my favorite season, the season when it’s okay to be really into witches and ghosts and vampires.  The season when school starts back up and everything is new and you can remake yourself.

What happens every August is that I start to feel the itch for rebirth.  It’s like my cocoon is starting to chafe.  Suddenly I need to lose weight, throw out all of my junk, buy all new clothes, and have some sort of spiritual awakening.  Three years ago, I spent the month obsessing over my weight and how fucking terrible I am and how I just need to get my shit together and be beautiful and fun and smart and interesting and clean and a good cook and a dedicated librarian and a writer.  I obsessed myself into a depression and only stopped when my father died, making my pant size seem pretty unimportant.  This is the time of year when I dig out my tarot cards and witchcraft books.  This is the season when I start listening to podcast preachers.

But this year I am listening to On Being still and I am listening to one episode a day.  I am down to 37 episodes.  They’re hit or miss.  Sometimes when I listen I feel like I am really gaining some sort of insight that I will carry into my day.  Other times I just feel soothed.  And there is nothing wrong with feeling soothed.

That’s all that I’ve really listened to this week.  I am trying to tear through Anne of Windy Poplars at present and should finish up tomorrow or Thursday.  After that I’ll spend next week catching up on stuff that I was caught up on before.