Tally Monday- February 19, 2018

Checked Out

  1. Marbles by Ellen Forney
  2. The Graphic Canon, vol 1 edited by Russ Kick
  3. Lincoln in the Bardo by George Saunders
  4. Make Your Bed by Admiral William H. McRaven

Bought

None, but not for lack of trying.

Read

  1. Out of Sight, Out of Time by Ally Carter

Reading: My own novel, The Lost Hero by Rick Riordan, The Legends of King Arthur and His Knights by James Knowles, United We Spy by Ally Carter, A Room of One’s Own by Virginia Wolf, Letters to a Young Poet by Rilke, Chicken Soup for the SoulSimple Abundance by Sarah Ban Breathnach, Empowered Mama by Lisa Druxman, and The Bst Loved Poems of the American People

I have been a bit manic for a while now.  Nearly a week, which is a long time for me.  I was wondering this morning if it really was mania or if things had just clicked.  I’ve spent a lot of time thinking about things lately and I’ve figured some things out.  I feel really good, like I am on the right path and making progress and all of that.  But I know that I’m manic too because of two things:  First, I cannot get myself to settle down and focus on one thing for the life of me.  Second, books I’ve requested have started rolling in.

It should have been a sign when I decided last week that I was going to read all of Jane Austen and then after I talked myself down from that I we hell bent on rereading all of Joe Meno.  At least I’ve managed to control myself a little.

Last week I focused on reading my own novel.  I’ve been working on it for years but have never really managed to edit it.  Whenever it was time to edit, I would do that thing I do where I come up with a ton of other things that have to be done Right Now because I tell myself that I don’t know what I’m doing.  And that’s absolutely correct.  I DON’T know what I’m doing but I’m never going to know if I don’t try.  So, armed with Chuck Wendig’s advice on editing from his blog, I have undertaken the great re-read.

And, you know, it’s better than I thought.  Some of it is actually, like, really good.

I feel good about that.  I am a little disappointed that I haven’t finished the reread yet.  I started a week ago and I made really good time at first but then I got busy with some other things for work and I pretty much ran full out for the second half of last week while accomplishing very little.  “I’ll finish reading it this weekend,” I told myself.  Saturday I went out with Hubby and told myself that I was taking a day off because I needed it.  Sunday I was frustratingly out of sorts, unable to finish one simple task and too distracted to focus on anything.  Finally, last night I sat down with it and read 10%.

I had a talk with myself, see.  Right now the novel is the most important thing.  I can finish reading it if I just make it my top priority.  So, the laundry will have to wait and the house will have to wait.  Right now I need to read my novel and love my family and take care of myself.  If I focus on those three things, I’ll be alright.

For now, the plan is to finish the re-read and then let it sit for a week so I can process.  Then it’s back to editing which will have to take a front seat.  I may not read as much this year but I am doing something and that something is very important to me.

You guys have to keep your reading up for me, okay?  I’ll join you again soon.  Always be reading, my friends!

 

Leave a comment